01223 518330

Northfield Avenue, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB4 2HU

office@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

King's Hedges Educational Federation

Excellence, achieved through care, creativity and challenge.

King's Hedges Educational Federation

Excellence, achieved through care, creativity and challenge.

Home Learning 

Please follow public guidelines of going out for exercise daily. Wherever possible play in your own outside areas.

Up to date information is available here: www.gov.uk/coronavirus 

Welcome the King’s Hedges Educational Federation Home Learning Page. Below you will find three sections. First, there is a link to the home learning created by the class teachers in Nursery. All other year groups will now set home learning on Seesaw. Next, are the contact details of the class teachers. Finally, you will find links to a range of other home learning resources. Please choose the best resources for your child/ren and that you find easiest to access. The home learning materials produced by the class teachers contain material that the children will be familiar with. They will recognise the format, vocabulary and tasks.

The most important thing is that your children have opportunities to read, write and practise their maths skills daily. This will help them most when they return to school. It is also important for them to have opportunities to be creative, exercise and have fun.

We hope you find the resources useful.

During the summer lockdown we trialled a secure online platform named Seesaw in Year 4,5 and 6. As we start a new term in school and work to control the spread of COVID-19 we are going to be using Seesaw in school with all classes.  Children will be able to access Seesaw in school using an iPad or laptop provided. The platform enables children to post their work (including photos, videos, worksheets, drawings and voice recordings) online for their teachers. Teachers will give feedback on children’s work and give extra support where necessary. In future, any Home Learning will be set using Seesaw. 

Click here for the letter about Seesaw. 

Download the app here. 

Laptops for home learning 

The Government are extending the scheme for laptops for school pupils. The Department for Education (DfE) is providing laptops and tablets to help children and families access remote education during the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. Devices may be available for children.

Please make sure your have completed the short questionnaire at the end of the Seesaw letter to let us know if you are eligible for the loan of a laptop from the school during a local, school or bubble closure to access home learning. 

 

Support with home learning

In the event of a local lock down, bubble or school closure, if you have any questions regarding the home learning pack, please contact your child's class teacher via e-mail. The email address will start with the name of your child's class followed by @kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk. Please direct any other enquiries to the school office - office@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Nursery

Nursery@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

 

Year Reception

bees@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

wasps@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

 

Year 1

Alpacas@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Llamas@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

 

Year 2

Badgers@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Foxes@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

 

Year 3

Whales@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Sharks@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Dolphins@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

 

Year 4

Chimpanzees@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Gorillas@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

 

Year 5

Newts@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Tadpoles@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Frogs@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

 

Year 6

Moths@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Butterflies@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Caterpillars@kingshedges.cambs.sch.uk

Key Maths Resources

Use your TT Rockstars log-in to access both TT Rockstars and Numbots!

Numbots - click here 

TT Rockstars - click here

Use your MyMaths login to access a range of activities set by your teacher.

MyMaths - click here

Explaining COVID19 to Children 

This short story may help to explain the current COVID 19 situation to children. Click here

Here you will find a book to support and reassure children under 7. It is available in different languages . Click here

Here is a link to a pdf time capsule work book for pupils to record their thoughts and feelings about the COVID situation. Click here 

A free information book explaining the coronavirus to children, illustrated by Gruffalo illustrator Axel Cheffler. Click here

 

Further Resources 

The Department for Education have brought together an initial list of online educational resources to help children to learn at home.

These websites have been identified by some of the country’s leading educational experts and offer a wide range of support and resources for pupils of all ages. Click here.

Although our historic churches are currently closed you can still enjoy them and learn something new here.

Cambridge United have produced some education activity packs. Click here